Scientific Advisors

Biomimiq is supported by a group of Scientific Advisors, with whom Biomimiq’s team has an open discussion, sharing scientific ideas and concerns.

Dr. Abdoelwaheb El Ghalbzouri
Assistant professor (Leiden University Medical Center)


Dr. El Ghalbzouri was trained as a molecular cell biologist at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris VI) in France. He has worked on the development and optimization of human skin equivalents (HSEs) since 1998. In 2004, Abdoel obtained his PhD on research conducted at the Department of Dermatology at the Leiden University Medical Center (LUMC) in Leiden, The Netherlands. Abdoel has extensive experience in the area of development and use of HSEs. As the founding researcher of Biomimiq, dr. El Ghalbzouri genuinely contributes to Biomimiq’s scientific well-being.

Dr. Maria Ponec
Associate professor (Leiden University Medical Center, retired)


Dr. Maria Ponec is a genuine pioneer in the generation of human skin equivalents (HSEs). She has spent most of her long and outstanding scientific career on the development and optimization of HSEs. Until her retirement in 2003, she was associate professor at the Department of Dermatology of the Leiden University Medical Center in Leiden, the Netherlands. She is author and co-author of more than 250 referenced papers and book chapters. She is widely recognized as one of the most distinguished experts in the field of development and use of HSEs. During her career she won several prestigious awards, including the Silver award, the Hugo van Poelgeest award and the Heinz Mauer award.

Prof. Dr. Joke A. Bouwstra
Professor (Leiden Amsterdam Centre for Drug Research)


Prof. Dr. Joke Bouwstra chairs the skin research group at the Leiden Amsterdam Centre for Drug Research. She currently supervises three post-docs, six PhD students, two technicians and various Master students. Prof. Dr. Bouwstra is author of nearly 300 publications and/or book chapters and co-inventor of 11 patents. In 2005 she was awarded the Simon Stevin Meesterschap award by the Dutch Technology Foundation STW and in 2011 she received the prestigious CE.R.I.E.S Research Award.